Dul Seks Hikayeleri

NT Literary Awards


Finalists have been announced for the 2014 NT Literary Awards and 2014 Territory Read Awards, which celebrate the achievements of authors across the Northern Territory. Winners will be announced at the Awards Ceremony to be held on 29 May, as part of the WordStorm Writers Festival opening night festivities.

A record 432 entries were received this year for the NT Literary Awards, which recognises unpublished works in six categories including, poetry, essays, short stories, travel writing, theatre scripts and youth. The Territory Read Award, recognising published works, received 21 entries.

Principal Partner of the annual NT Literary Awards, Charles Darwin University’s Professor Martin Jarvis, said he is delighted with the high standard of writing in the Territory.

“The judges have had a particularly challenging task this year with the record number of entries and the high calibre of the works presented,” Professor Jarvis said.

“Of particular note is the outstanding range and number of works, 10 in total, that are finalist in the Kath Manzie’s Youth Award and the strong showing in the Brown’s Mart Theatre Award with three scripts making the finals,” Professor Jarvis said.

“I look forward to meeting the finalists at the Awards night later this month and joining with the other sponsors in congratulating the winners in each category.”

Winners of the 2014 Territory Read Awards will also be announced, including the Chief Minister’s Book of the Year Award, Children’s Literature/Young Adult Fiction Award and Non-Fiction Book Award.

An initiative of the NT Writers Centre and Executive Director, Panos Couros, says the Territory Read Awards recognise the extraordinary accomplishment of NT authors in having their work published.

“Shortlisted finalists are all to be congratulated on their outstanding achievement,” said Mr Couros.

“In particular we would like to acknowledge the Chief Minister’s Book of the Year Award finalists, who are all from Alice Springs, which demonstrates the very high standard of work being produced in Central Australia.”

Winners in the 2014 NT Literary Awards and Territory Read Awards will be announced at a special event the NT Library, Parliament House at 5:00pm, Thursday 29 May. This free event is the first event on the exciting 2014 WordStorm Writers Festival program, which runs from Thursday 29 May to Sunday 1 June. See www.wordstorm.org.au for further information and bookings.

Shortlisted Finalists for 2014 NT Literary Awards

ZipPrint Short Story Award:

Author Title
Dark water Natalie Sprite
Wai im laik det? Lolla Stewart
The Tunnel Geoffrey Collins
Shot Michelle Culpitt
357 Kerry Anne Taylor
King Tide Karen Manton


NTWC logo swirlNT Writers Centre Poetry Award:

Author Title
Memento mori Kerrie.A.Nelson
Tread softly Sue Fielding
Night Fallen Kaye Aldenhoven
I love my dogs Kaye Aldenhoven
Batchelor Jennifer Pinkerton
Previously reported missing Barbara Eather


Charles Darwin University Travel Short Story Award:

Author Title
Arnhem Highway Josephine Smiley
Great Wall bad idea Barbara Eather
The banker of Com Kaye Aldenhoven
Africa baby Fiona Black
The first dance Jennifer Pinkerton


Charles Darwin University Essay Award:

Author Title
The myth of government cover-up in the first Darwin raids Dr Tom Lewis
Closing the ‘institutions gap’ in mining operations on Indigenous lands Lauren Wapling
A critical examination of a crime prevention program
The Post-Release Supported Accommodation Program provided by the Northern Territory Department of Correctional Services
Jodi Cowdery


Kath Manzie Youth Award:

Author Title
Family climb Ashleigh Abram
Climate change Kierra-Jay Power
The earth Kierra-Jay Power
Sticks and stones Morgan Gurry
Destroyed beauty Caitlin Salter
Ricin Kierra-Jay Power
Worth fighting for Arlya Tuckey
Tragedy of the Tokyo trip Skye Lavelle
Memoir,  my little bird Luciana Susanto
Old man Charles Lotus Kelly


Browns Mart Theatre Award:

Author Title
Broken Mary Anne Butler
To the end of reckoning Samantha Young
Whitebait Sandra Thibodeaux